Penalty yesterday.

Talk about anything to do with Cheltenham Town, CTFC 500 Club, League 1, ex players & Managers

Moderators: Admin, Ralph, asl, Robin

User avatar
Malabus
Posts: 13215
Joined: 20 Nov 2009, 12:26
Location: The Death Star.
Can anyone explain to me why the goal that resulted from the penalty miss was disallowed.

Keena hits the post and scored from the rebound.

How can a player be offside from a ball that was kicked by the same player.

Keena>Post>Keena
Last edited by Malabus on 05 Nov 2023, 00:59, edited 1 time in total.
MSB
Posts: 134
Joined: 10 Aug 2014, 15:26
The penalty taker can't touch the ball until another player has. If the keeper had tipped it onto the post then it would have counted.
User avatar
Malabus
Posts: 13215
Joined: 20 Nov 2009, 12:26
Location: The Death Star.
MSB wrote:The penalty taker can't touch the ball until another player has. If the keeper had tipped it onto the post then it would have counted.
Thank you.
You don’t see them often.
Fuller
Posts: 2467
Joined: 27 Jun 2012, 09:23
I heard Pete Matthews get that wrong on the radio yesterday and Mark Halliwell putting him right.
And Keena should have known the rules.
Not that it mattered this time.
About sums up our sorry display.
asl
Posts: 6383
Joined: 20 Nov 2009, 09:37
Thought everyone knew that rule...

Years ago, I remember Chris Woods in goal for England, facing an indirect free-kick. The kick taker must've not heard the ref and took a shot directly on goal that cleared the wall. Woods threw himself through the air to try to make a save but to no avail and the ball hit the back of the net. Ref blew for an England free-kick but the point was, if Woods had got a fingertip to the ball, it would have counted.
Jerry St Clair
Posts: 1196
Joined: 15 Aug 2011, 16:40
Just watched it back. In fairness to Keena the ball rebounded hard straight at him so he had very little chance to get out of the way. Once it hit him it’s an indirect free kick and he clearly knew that as he passed the ball into the net.
robinsrule
Posts: 822
Joined: 25 Nov 2010, 16:00
There was a fair bit of confusion around us in the away end about it. I’m not sure the ref knew the rules cos he had to go over and chat to his linesman for a good 2 mins before he awarded the free kick! This link offers a good explanation:

https://www.theguardian.com/football/20 ... ing%20team
Si Robin
Posts: 5044
Joined: 20 Nov 2009, 10:29
Jerry St Clair wrote: 05 Nov 2023, 10:20 Just watched it back. In fairness to Keena the ball rebounded hard straight at him so he had very little chance to get out of the way. Once it hit him it’s an indirect free kick and he clearly knew that as he passed the ball into the net.
I thought the same - very little Aidan could have done. Half an inch to the left and it's a cracking penalty.

When it's not going your way though....
Post Reply